Wednesday, May 30, 2018

End of Year Google Classroom and Google Drive Clean Up

The end of the school year is a time when many teachers find themselves cleaning up their classrooms and files and beginning to organize things for the next school year. While it is often more obvious that the physical classroom needs to be organized at the end of the school year, so do our digital classrooms and storage spaces.

Now, is a great time to clean up and organize your Google Classroom(s) and Google Drive.

The following tips will help you clean up your digital classroom and files as you close out one school year and prepare for the next.

Tip #1:  Remember to return all student work

When students submit their work through Google Classroom, Google automatically changes the permissions of the file(s) that were submitted making the teacher the owner and reducing the student's right to "view only." While this is helpful when having assignment deadlines and grading students' work you don't want to leave it this way.

After you have graded assignments you want to make sure to return the work back to the students so that the ownership and access permissions of these files revert back to the students as well. This is critical to remember when you are cleaning up your Google Drive folders and files. If you do not return the assignments back to the students and you delete these files from your Drive you are really deleting the file. However, if you return the work to the students and they resume ownership of the files when you delete them all it does is remove the file from your Drive.

Tip #2:  Un-enroll students who have left your class during the year

If you prefer not to have students accessing content, assignments, information, etc. from your class you can un-enroll them and remove them from your Google Classroom.

Tip #3:  Archive old classes

When you are done with a digital class you can archive the class so that your Google Classroom current class list is cleaned up.

Archiving a Google Class not only removes the class from the list on your main Classroom homepage, it also freezes the class so that no new changes can be made and allows you to still reuse posts and assignments in new Google Classrooms.

Tip #4:  Move old class folders in your Google Drive

Many teachers don't realize that as they use Google Classroom, Google automates the workflow and organization by creating class folders and assignment folders in your Google Drive as you use Google Classroom throughout the year.

Every time you create a class in Google Classroom a folder is created for that class where all the assignment documents and other files are stored. It is important to know that you are able to move class folders in your Google Drive to a new location so that only the current class folders and files are easily visible.

I recommend that you locate your "Classroom" folder in your Google Drive. Within that folder, you can create a new folder and name it "Archived." Now you can simply drag and drop the old (archived) class folders into the new folder you just created.

Moving Google Classroom folders doesn't change anything in your Google Classroom or with file permissions. It just allows you to more quickly and easily find your current Classroom folders and files.

Tip #5:  Remove old Google Classroom calendars

Not only does Google create folders in your Google Drive to organize your digital class it also creates a Google Calendar when you create assignments with due dates. The calendar is a great way for students and teachers to see upcoming due dates for class assignments and projects during the school year.

When the school year is done you don't need the calendars from your Google classes cluttering up your calendar list. You can prevent this by either hiding these calendars or deleting them from your calendar list.